Sarawak State Election will be on 7 May 2016


The eleventh Sarawak state election will be held on Saturday, 7 May 2016 after nomination for candidates on Monday, 25 April. The 82 members of the Sarawak State Legislative Assembly, will be elected in single-member constituencies using first-past-the-post voting. More than 1.1 million who have their names entered or retained in an electoral register for a particular electoral district in Sarawak are eligible to vote at the time of the election.

BERSIH and local NGOs in Sarawak are working together to set up the PEMANTAU team to monitor the upcoming Sarawak state election.

PEMANTAU refers to the monitoring of elections. It is an important process to ensure that the Sarawak state election is carried out in a fair and clean manner. Through monitoring, citizens become observers that prevent and whistle blow on fraud or electoral offences such as bribery, misuse of power, and disturbance towards the electoral process.

PEMANTAU Sarawak has identified five key DUNs to monitor, i.e.:
(1) N02. Tasik Biru (Bau/Tondong/Serikin)
(2) N13. Batu Kitang (Kuching/Arang/Kitang)
(3) N53. Bawang Assan (Sibu/Rassau)
(4) N75. Senadin (Miri/Kuala Baram/Riam)
(5) N77. Telang Usan (Long Lama/Long San/Miri)

Come and join the Bersih team to be an observer. Register at Bersih 2.0 site: